Individual – Side Composition:
Process/About: I took this photo of my boyfriend’s dad, an inspiring sixty-one year old snowboarder. To capture this photo I set my camera to a 3.5 aperture and then took some steps back and zoomed in to capture the blurred background.

alyssadyck-sidecomposition

Process/About: This photo was taken of my boyfriend in Grand Teton National Park with a 3.5 aperture. I then fixed up some blemishes on his face and added some edits with the levels adjustment layer.

alyssadyck-turnerportrait

Individual – Head & Shoulders:

Process/About: This photo was taken of my sister at Stonebrook apartments in Rexburg. Some of the background blur was captured with a low aperture number on the camera, but more was added in with Photoshop afterwards.

alyssadyck-headshoulders

Individual – Full Body:

alyssadyck-fullbody

Group Activity – Candid:
Process/About: This photo is truly candid and was not planned whatsoever, I just happened to capture a adorable moment of the whole family as my sister fixed her daughters jacket.

alyssadyck-groupcandid

Group – Posed:

alyssadyck-groupposed

Individual – Environmental:
Process/About: This photo was taken in Grand Teton National Park in the Colter Bay area while cross country skiing. It captures my boyfriend Turner in his environment which is cross country skiing, as well as basically everything outdoors. And especially near his favorite mountains, the Tetons.

alyssadyck-xcski

Process/About: I felt like this photo really captured my sister in her environment as a mother.

alyssadyck-environmental

Portrait Enhancements (See Original in the Thumbnail):
Process/About: For my portrait enhancements I first whitened her teeth by using a 15% opacity white paint brush. I then edited away all of her blemishes using the spot healing tool. Afterwards I edited her eyes by using a 10% opacity white paintbrush to whiten the white parts, and using just one click of the dodge tool to lighten up her naturally bright blue color. Lastly I used a low exposure of the burn and dodge tools to contour different parts of her face in a natural way.

alyssadyck-portrait3touchedup

alyssadyck-portrait3original

Match Color:
Process/About: I took the original image and used the match color adjustment tool with a 50% fade to make this image more bright and warm, rather than the gloomy feel the original image had.

alyssadyck-portrait2edited

alyssadyck-portrait2originalalyssadyck-matchcolorreference

Replace Color:
Process/About: I used the color replace adjustment tool to replace the bright red color of my niece’s coat with a deeper red so that there would be more contrast with the bright red slide in the background.

alyssadyck-matchcolor

alyssadyck-portrait1

Leave a Reply

